Technics SL 1200 GR

Hi everyone,

I know that a lot of you might think I am crazy but it is what it is.  I heard a Rega Planar 6 play a few days ago and was totally mesmerized with the sound. This will be my first TT and I am the type that prefers to buy the best I can instead of starting small, selling and upgrading. I have to admit, I do enjoy fiddling with upgrades but the idea is to get a future proof turntable and upgrade stuff like cartridges, etc along the way.  

Before you recommend that I get the P6, its simply out of my budget. I could consider the P3 if you believe its better than the SL 1210 GR (not the latest model 2 but the original one). 

Anyway, here are some questions I was hoping you'd be able to help me with:

• What will a good starter Cartridge?
  • Should I go for MM or MC? Is one more complicated to install than the other? prefer something simple as its my first time.  Also, I read stuff like LO and HO.. For what ts worth, I will be using my Marantz PM Ki Ruby's built in phono (I believe it can handle both MM and MC, I could be wrong).
  • Anything else I should keep in mind?  Basic products for maintenance? 

Thanks in advance for your help. I appreciate it!

prashanth14485

“the idea is to get a future proof turntable”

I hate to say it but SL1200 is not something I would consider a future proof TT. If you want to dip your toes into record playback, go ahead with SL1200. If you’re the type that prefer the best then you need to budget around $5K. Alternatively, look for used bargains on TT’s.

A good analog setup requires serious commitment and $$$$.

My reference for start up cartridge is Hana ML MC Cartridge - $1200. Your built-in Marantz phono EQ would suffice for now but eventually you may end up upgrading to a better phono. When I started with analog few years back, I was pleasantly surprised by modestly priced Parasound ZPhonoXRM - $249. It was so easy to use and sounded incredibly good with a $3K TT and Hana ML Cart.