$800 to spend on speakers, $1500 on whole system

I am new to community and am seeking advice on my first good sound system. I am looking to spend $500-800 on a used set of two speakers for my living room, which is not very large. I cannot decide between bookshelf speakers or a floor speaker. I will be listening mostly to digital music, and I could use recommendations on a DAC and receiver. I would like the receiver to be bluetooth if high quality receivers come with this feature, but that's not a deal breaker for me.

My Ideal system would have two speakers at $500-800 and with receiver, DAC, cables, and anything else I would need totaling around $1200, but $1500 maximum. I figured I would start with speakers and go from there.

I like to listen to most music, except rap. Heavy metal, funk, jazz. Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks

pawadalla
I recently bought an integrated amp that I'm really impressed with for the money, and at a pretty good discount.  For you I'd suggest the Nad C356DAC, normally it goes for about 900, but is on sale at this time of year as they clear out the factory refreshed stuff.  

You should be able to get it for about $650 at spearitsound(click on the "used, demos and specials" link on the home page), if you are decided on getting a DAC, which is a module installed in this Nad.  Speakers, for 800 or less, you might be better off with a bookshelf as towers at this price range are pretty entry level.  

A great option for bookshelf speakers is an internet direct dealer like Ascend Acoustics.  The Sierra-1 outperforms anything at the same price range of $750 because they don't have the usual mark up of  the wholesale/retail brands.  

A couple of really good options to chew on!