OPpo 205.... Awesome !!

Into my top odds line Sony 4k. Fabulous šŸ‘ŒĀ  Ā I'm sure others have my experience. Please confirmĀ  šŸ‘šŸ»Ā  Ā 

ptss

Translation:

I am really enjoying this 4k blue ray disc player with my new top of the line Sony 4k television! The picture is simply stunning!

How many others have this wonderful combination and are you enjoying it as much as I am?

Agree, the Oppo UDP-205 is one of, if not the best, 4k Blu-ray players I have ever come across. Picture and SQ are second to none IMHO.

Sounds like my rig. I enjoy. Looking forward to Sony OLED in the future. One thing about the Oppo is future LASER replacement. Not sure it will be there, at least not from Oppo service dept.. Me nervous.

One thing about the Oppo is future LASER replacement.

Question - does a laser go bad if unused? I have NOT used the laser in my Oppo UDP-205 since I have been using it as a DAC since July-2020. Since 2020 July, I use the laser only once a year for 2-3 minutes to check if the CD and the SACDs that I have can be read by the laser. Maybe I should start checking every 3 -4 months?

The Oppo 205 IS awesome, best universal blueray player period. I bought mine just before they discontinued them. Has worked flawlessly from the day I bought it. No other companies make a universal player with the same options and features of the Oppo 205. I use mine as a dac preamp and run everything off it, subwoofer and powered surround speakers. Amazing unit, and it sounds great for audio only, good Sacd surround recordings are amazing as well. There is another company now called Magnetar that makes a very similar player as the Oppo 205 but it costs twice the price and it does NOT have all the same digital inputs as the 205. Ā Oppo 205 is still the best.

@thecarpathianĀ 

Ā Thanks for clarificationĀ  šŸ‘šŸ».Ā  Spellcheck can translate into Greek; and doesn't even charge for that feature ..Ā  I'm particularly happy being able to enjoy my DVD's šŸ‘šŸ».Ā Ā