Tonearm Options for Basis 2800

Hi All,

I'm wondering if anyone has experience putting something other than a Graham or Vector tonearm on this table. I'm somewhat new to turntables and my perhaps incorrect impression was that with a bit of tweaking most arms could go on most tables, and by tweaking I don't mean radically changing the plinth etc. I was considering putting a Vector 4 on a table that has a Vector 3 and was told (by the big kahoona) that it's not possible because of a "high cup/low cup issue", so I'm just a bit confused.

Thanks
128x128moryoga
You just got this thing two months ago and you're changing
the arm? IMO, you will have to spend a lot of money to best
what you have. If you have to spend money, you would
probably be better off upgrading something else. I know
that Basis tables can be fitted with a Rega, but you need
some type of adaptor and you wouldn't want to change from a
Vector to a Rega anyway. Once an arm hole is drilled, you
just can't stick any arm on any table because different arms
may (or may not)require different arm hole locations. In
any case, try to relax and listen to some music. You have a
great table and arm there, so give yourself some time to
grow into it.
You can put a Vector 4 on your turntable, but it has to be a high cup arm, due to the platter height, which is what Mr. Conti tried to explain, I am guessing.

It will be difficult to better the Basis Vector on that turntable, but maybe the Superarm 9 is a consideration.
Charyo,
Thanks for your feedback. I haven't even received the tt yet but am surprised at your response. Aren't we always trying to create the best system we can? That being said, I appreciate your wait and listen advice.
Any Graham arm. I have the Debut and I used a 2.2 now the Phantom. I just wish I could add another arm but am looking into arm pods.
Graham Phantom
- done right design
- excellent adjustment even for owners with 10 left thumbs
- tonality is right
- replaceable Arm tubes for different carts