REF3 with VS115

Hi folks
I wanted to buy a ARC LS 26 and a VS 115. I heard the combination and it sounded really good.
However, I got the opportunity to buy a second hand REF3 (first owner, less than 1 year old) for less money than the LS 26 (new).
Now I wonder if the REF3 is too much for the VS 115?
Am I in for a disappointment due to a mismatch or should I grasp the opportunity?
Thanks for your insights.
Jan
jotra
I'm no ARC expert but this is a no brainer, it will only help the VS-115 sound stage, overall openness etc.,etc. grab it ASAP!!! BUY IT!!! BTW I own a VS-115 and dream of paring a Ref 3 with it but for finance reasons probably will buy a used LS-26
HI, it's Audio Research's newest amp, uses some ARC Reference 110 technology at a lower price, hopefully with a sound that's close! On the same continent would make me happy.
Hey Jotra, by all means the REF 3 will enhance what you hear from the VS-115. Many posts comment the REF 3 is one of the very finest, if not the finest, pre-amp made. I have the LS-26 / VS-115 combo, and I got the LS-26 before the VS-115 and put it into a system with a moderate priced ROTEL solid state amp. I was floored by the immense improvement in detail, soundstage, everything musical! I lusted after the REF 3, but like many others leaping to that level of performance might have meant having to wait much longer to move my entire system up-the-ladder.

I'm loving my all ARC front-end, but will have to wait a bit to add a reference class ARC component. If you have the resources I'm sure you'll be delighted.
I have this exact combo and, after a problem with the 115 was resolved, I am quite happy with the sound. I listened to both the 115 and the Ref 110 and feel good about my choice.
Hi Chucktone.
Could you please elaborate on the problem with the VS115? Was it in any way related to the REF3?