What became of schubert, more recently aka jim5559?

I am posting this in the “Music” forum because the contributor in question is one of the most musically astute individuals to ever post here.

It has been more than a year since his last post and I wondered if anyone knows the reason for his absence. I hope he is well. He is missed.

PLEASE! Let’s keep responses on track.

Thank you.

frogman

He might no longer be with us, but I have no knowledge of that. The reason that I suggest it is that someone once said that he was in his late 80's. I guess that he was well versed in classical music, and he had a passion for Bach, but he was a bit ignorant about any sort of popular or rock music and flatly labeled it all as worthless.

We went at it a couple of times because of that, but then I just gave up and accepted it.

God bless schubert wherever he is.

Appropriate that by chance I happened to have some Bach playing when I saw this.  

I shared with schubert a love of J.S. Bach, but his penchant for insisting music be made solely in glory to God was a gulf too wide to bridge. That’s akin to saying sex must be engaged in solely to procreate. Lighten up, dude ;-) .

@bdp24 

Yeah, I forgot about that part. It was pretty unbearable. And I imagine that you had am issue with his attitude towards rock and roll even more than myself.

Yes indeed @roxy54. The early Bluesmen and Rock ’n’ Rollers were denounced for singing the "Devil’s Music", and the 1950’s and 60’s Soul singers were denounced from the pulpit in the same Baptist churches whose choirs they had once sang in. Those included Sam Cooke, the first of the choir boys (no irony intended ;-) to go secular. Aretha and others followed his lead.