Brown Electronic Laboratory amplifer 1001 MV

I was given this BEL 1001 amplifier, but when I try to connect the rear cables to my pre-amp what looks like normal RCA cables do not fit into the rear RCA receptacles.  Why? and what to do to make it work?

kenema

kenema

I just looked at a pic of one,  it looks like RCA for sure.  I would first try a different pair of cables.   

I have an early version BEL 1001. Never had any issue with a variety of RCA's.

Are the male pins too large? 

Could you describe why a standard RCA will not connect and what you see upon examination?

Tried 2 RCA cables. Pins too large. Are there cables with smaller pins?  Strange. 

@kenema 

Sorry but I'm an old tech challenged guy, so I am no help about posting pictures.

You say you were gifted the BEL. Any chance to have a conversation about it with the donor?

no, was given to me by relative of former owner, not longer alive, and relative never used the amp.

Any chance cheap or old  RCA pins are broken and stuck in there?

Just a thought.   Chances are slim but who knows 

Mr. brown of BEL no longer alive so need a BEL guru who might have an idea of why the apparent RCA plugs on back will not accommodate a normal RCA plug.

Kenema

The cables you're having issues with you've used before I'm assuming.

I'm curious to know what are the cables that will not fit.

The problem is the pins have too much diameter not a length issue?

Diameter issue, not length. I have used these cables in the past on my VTL preamp, and a sony amp.  no problem.  Seems unlikely two pins broken inside, certainly cannot see anything when I shine a bright light on the plugs.  I also purchased another set of cables that also do not fit. older cables have no name just says digital high performance cable.  New cables are Aurum.  I was in 'olden time' a bit of a audiophile (magnaplanar speakers, tube amps and pre-amps) but long ago.  too busy to do that now. This is a legendary amp and just trying to get it to work.