$3000 Speaker/electronics budget

Hi All,

I am a bit new to the home theater system market and am asking this question on the behalf of a friend. He has $3000 to spend on speakers,amplification and processing. I do not believe the DVD source is part of this budget. Any suggestion as to what components can be obtained at this price point would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
krazeeyk
I disagree pretty strongly with some of the posts above.

First of all, a quality DVD source SHOULD be part of your friend's budget, whether it is now or not.. He really needs to go see the difference a good DVD player makes by auditioning at least one and comparing it to whatever he is using now (presuming a standard mass market player). It will make far more difference than your friend can begin to suspect.

As for fund allocation, I would do it as follows:

Arcam DVD 78 - around $600 used when you can find them (1 k new). Absolutely nothing comes close for video and audio quality anywhere near this price range.

Arcam AVR 250 receiver - $800 used.

Then spend the rest of the money on speakers - either Paradigm monitor series or Rega's new R series. With these speaker lines, $1600 goes a long way, even buying new (which I think I would do for simplicity’s sake).

At this price point I would avoid getting a separate amp and processor. I think separates make sense only if he were to go up substantially in his price range.
Thanks for the great suggestions. I am a big Arcam fan myself so I feel pretty good about recommending that brand to him. As far as the DVD is concerned, I am sure it is in his budget, but he just mentioned that 3K was for amplification and speakers. I think he wants 5.1 at least. Please keep the great ideas coming.

Thanks