Wood Cones, JVC EX-A1 $550

Just curious if anyone has heared this thing yet. They have a small artical about it in the Aug 2004 issue of Playboy.
This minisystem has those wooden cones that are made by soaking them in Sake.

Anyone heared this yet? impressions?

Im curious if we will start seeing more wooden speakers on the market soon.
slappy
Hi Slappy,

Yes, I read about this a while ago. At first, I think we will all get a small chuckle out of it. Actually, the fact that soaking a wooden cone in sake makes the cone perform differently than a non-soaked cone shows the insidious nature of vibration and how it can affect an audio and video system. Almost ANYTHING we do in the realm of vibration control makes a difference. The question is whether that difference brings us closer to faithfully reproducing what has been captured in the recording or takes us further away from that goal.

I am not a proponent of cones (they do not isolate a component from vibration and because they are a rigid device, they transmit vibration up through the rack and shelf into the component. They also do nothing to address air-borne and internally generated vibration). But the fact that a company like JVC is actually using a "tweak" kind of item in one of their designs is heartening.

Best Regards,

Barry Kohan

Disclaimer: I am a manufacturer of vibration control products.
I saw a post on this after my neighbor mentioned it to me...saw that you had responded to it also Slappy...when I read the article, I noticed that this guy at JVC had been working on this technology for 20 years and was trying to better the technologies/cone materials of the time...well...seems like the technologies have already advanced...kevlar, etc...so I think this guy is a day late and a dollar short.

Plus...i went to a site that had the specs...they listed the amp at 30w into a 4ohm load w/ 10% distortion...obviously these are some pretty inefficient speakers.