VPI Speed Problem

I have a VPI Super Scoutmaster with SDS. Fabulous sound, had it for about a year. I moved to a new place about 5 months ago and have had it set up and working well for about 3 months in the new location.

Recently, I thought the first song on some album sides sounded slow, but as the album played a minute or two, all sounded right again. Now, everything sounds slow all the time, both 33's and 45's. I tried bypassing the SDS, though there is no speed setting on the motor assembly, so I don't know if that should sound right, but it sounds very slow and muddy as well.

Any thoughts on what might be wrong or how to troubleshoot? Any insight would be appreciated.
kthomas

Showing 6 responses by reb1208

Maybe you could borrow the new VPI rim drive and give it a try on your Super Scoutmaster. Decide for yourself if the belt or rim is "better"
For general knowledge, the way I set speed is by ear, when the record is playing. I play the exact same title on cd, from that same master tape source. I do this with a few records/cd's and A/B back and forth during play. When the sound is perfectly in synch, I leave the SDS at that frequency. Do this after you set the VTF/VTA etc.
Speed has to be checked when a record is playing while the stylus is in the groove. Checking with a strobe disc without the drag of the stylus is not accurate. You will set your rpm too high. Use the strobe disc to get you in the ballpark. Then fine tune by ear, synchronizing to your cd player playing the same title. Also make sure your analog rig is warmed up, let it run awhile before checking. Yeah, I know, I think differently than the herd. But then again, I'm a pretty smart guy.