Noob, need help please

Hi there,

I have a pair of Klipsch RP-8000F floorstanding speakers. 
I am a little unclear about what I need to complete my setup. 
I want to use these as home theatre speakers when watching off Netflix or Satellite TV, and also as music speakers when playing off Spotify through the TV. 

Do I need a pre-amp and an amp, or just an amp? What does a receiver do?
Do I need a separate DAC too or an amp with built in DAC?

I am a newbie to all of this so willing to learn, please forgive my lack of knowledge.

My budget is max 1k but then I don’t really know what I need to bring out the best in these speakers. When watching movies I like a little warmth but also like some detail. When listening to music I like a lot of bass. 
I need channels to add in a sub (I have Klipsch R-12SW) and a center speaker (yet to buy but probably will get the Klipsch RP-504C) at a later stage. 
If you need more information please let me know. 
Many thanks in advance!
laher

Showing 3 responses by mwoh419

@millercarbon

"Home theater advice only really pertains if you are truly setting up a home theater with a lot of seating. In other words hardly anyone in the sweet spot. That's the real reason for all the channels. Because without the center channel people sitting way off center will hear the dialog coming from whichever speaker is closest instead of from the screen in the middle. Also all the effects coming from left or right, they will only sound right from the sweet spot, so everyone else needs the surround speakers to try and even things out.

It never works. No matter how many channels or how they are processed or how wonderful the speakers or how perfectly placed still no matter what it only ever sounds really good in the sweet spot. All you can possibly do by adding all the channels is degrade and debase whatever quality was there to begin with. Because that is the inevitable result of running it through anything multichannel.