Will a Moon 280D augment a Musical Fidelity/ATC combo?

I currently am sending Qubuz from a desktop Mac to an inexpensive audio engine wireless dac to a musical fidelity A308 integrated amp to Atc SCM 40 speakers.

Clearly, the source and the DAC are the weak points in my system, and I recently came into some money and can upgrade them. I was thinking that the moon streamer/DAC would be a good match since it is reputed to be musical and refined and my speakers are on the cool monitor side of the spectrum (i’m not complaining. I love them.)

Does that seem reasonable? Does anyone have experience with this combination or any comment on my plan? 

I’m not a complete newbie, but I have heard very few systems to be able to compare anything to anything, and I will not have an opportunity to hear the streamer/DAC before one arriving at my home.

Thanks ahead of time. 

128x128m669326

I’ve heard the Moon 280D streaming DAC compared to my Pro-ject Stream Box S2 Ultra streamer with a Chord Qutest DAC at a dealer last year. The Pro-ject/Qutest combination was quite a bit better sounding than the 280D in terms of conveying rhythm and musical detail. The difference was immediately obvious. Music from the Moon 280D was smooth and not harsh, but it didn’t move me.

As good as the Qutest sounded, I now have a Denafrips Pontus II DAC that sounds even better (better detail resolution, richer tonal quality, warmer in sound, more natural sense of rhythm and pace). I had purchased the Qutest used as a known benchmark for comparing to other DACs. If you’re trying to warm up a cool sounding set of speakers, the Denafrips would be a good choice. Though you would have to order one, it sounds as though you also don’t have brick-and-mortar dealers close to you to listen to one first. The Denafrips DACs are selling like hotcakes and I see that folks are selling used units for close to full retail price as there is a waitlist for new units.