Tube/Hybrid Tube Preamps Below $2000

I pulled the trigger on a ps audio s300 power amp and the new klh five speakers. I can’t wait to set them up, but I can’t decide on a preamp. I’m new to tubes and separates, and this seems like a good opportunity to add some warmth. At the moment my short list is the rogue audio rp-1 and the van alstine fet valve cf rb. The cfr looks great, but pushes above $2000.
The rp-1 includes a phono stage which is a plus, and rogue seems to have a great reputation. Rogue audio often pairs tubes with class d amps, so it seems pretty safe that it’ll pair with the s300. RA is a PA company which is a plus.
The fet valve seems to have great reviews too, and it uses 4 tubes instead of 2 (this isn’t necessarily an advantage I know). I also like the simplicity and look of the fet valve better than the rp-1.
I was wondering if anyone had experience with either, or even both. Also, any missed options? Is the Doge 7 worth considering? The Doge 8 is just a little too much. I’m not opposed to used, but warranties and return periods are a big advantage. Van Alstine’s in particular seems great
lakeofthewyles

Showing 4 responses by lakeofthewyles

You’re right. It would probably be about $2000 with tube purchase. They’re back ordered though, and the balanced version a month beyond that. If you factor in build time, we’re looking 3 months or more. I’d be willing to wait if it’s worth it, but I’d rather not
I have and use a turntable, but I’m not opposed to an external phono amp. I’d prefer a phono input, but it’s not a dealbreaker. A remote would be nice, but it’s not a essential. Initially I didn’t want one, but the more I think about it, the more sense it makes.
The aric audio unlimited looks solid. Would be the most pure tube pre I’ve considered, but I’m interested. The adjustable gain is a nice touch. I wasn’t able to find many reviews, and how it holds up to others.