Comparison of sonic qualities of some tonearms

I’m relatively new to the world of vinyl, listening seriously for probably only 2 years.  Of course, many big picture items (e.g. turntable, phono stage, cartridges) are discussed extensively on this forum, but I haven’t seen much discussion comparing different tonearms.  I would be interested to hear about different people’s experiences with different tonearms, mentioning the audible advantages and disadvantages of each tonearm, realizing that there is no perfect sound, although from what I read about others’ experiences, SAT tonearms may come closest, albeit at a very high price.  

drbond

Showing 17 responses by tomic601

In the business i was in, understanding that tolerance stack is a two edge sword… there are so very many variables to consider…. chasing the dragon , catching a fleeting glimpse and then codification of whatever ritual of the hunt that got you  “ there “… is always risky…

I have stopped obsession w LP unique VTA….

I also am glad products like Safir exist…

Understand, in my in depth listen, we contended w different arms / tables and carts, so you had fewer variables…. Enjoy the music and the journey 

@jollytinker I have to ask… why not evaluate both arms w same cartridge ? note, i am a fan of both Kuzma arms… and have decent seat time w both.  

@mijostyn from one dog to another, your offer accepted… i’ve got the “ neat “ Panzerholtz covered thinking “ pretty is as pretty does “…. but one look at the applewood veneer on my Denon should reveal…my wood.. for Wood tendencies….

@lewm I applaud your import ! Appreciate another + input on that arm… which seems the case for people who have actually HEARD it….

@pindac it seems you are living the good audiophile / music lover community life ! i try to build same !

Agree w Mijo - get out and HEAR other systems but also have a reference….