Best Pre/Pro for under a $1000 used?

I currently have a Aragon Soundstream Pre/Pro and I was wondering if anyone thought there is a nice upgrade out there used for under 1K? I have been looking at numerous options but I have no experience with them. Some are the Anthem AVM-20 V2, Meridian 565, Proceed AVP-S, plus other models from Lexicon, Krell, B&K etc. I use it about 70% music, 30% movies. Any advice/opinions would be much appreciated. Thank you

doug
hyadstroya
Of course, none of those is capable of decoding SACD, TrueHD or dts MA. Nor does any one have HDMI facilities, afaik.

Kal
To have all the latest codecs decoded I went with an Onkyo receiver and don't use the amps, but you can use them for the surround sound, center, or mains. Very cost-effective and high quality.
I'm not interested in SACD or DVD audio at this point. Therfore, I would only be missing out on the updated HT functions of the newer models. I don't want to throw down 2K or more for the upgrades since I listen to more music than I watch movies.
I love the Anthem. Another choice is Sherbourne 7010/A It's essentially the same as the Sunfire IV but goes for less.
Why not just get an Outlaw Audio 990 on closeout for $699 with full factory warranty? It's based on the highly regarded Sherwood Newcastle 965. I have the Boston Acoustics AVP7, which is based on the same unit. It has a very nice sound, much nicer than Outlaw's earlier 950. The Outlaw version of the Sherwood adds balanced XLR outpus and 3-to-1 DVI switching, which means it can easily switch the video portion of HDMI output.

The Sherwood 965/BA AVP7/Outlaw 990 comes with a mic and automated surround setup, dialog sync, and a host of usable features. Also has a phono section and FM tuner.

It also has analog 7.1 inputs, so you can hook up a Blu-ray player with internal decoding and 7.1 output (e.g., Panasonic 55) directly into it and get the lossless surround codecs.