Bass- at what frequency does it change from sounding like a string to just a low tone?

I have two subs and speakers I like. I have little experience  comparing them to anything  else. As the frequency of a given note goes lower, at some point in my system it stops sounding like an instrument making the sound and instead it just sounds like the sound. I’m not crazy about this, but maybe that’s how it is for everyone?

128x128m669326

Showing 8 responses by m669326

Thanks, y’all.

All this information is quite helpful. My subs are SVBs, So I’m using a low pass filter set at 58 for Atc Speaker’s that go down to 48, measured at six not three drop off.

I guess what I’m really after is when subs are operating properly, or even with just floor standers, how low am I supposed to be able to hear notes as they would sound with actual Instruments in the room?

I am worried that my system doesn’t sound as good as it could, and that maybe other people hear much more than tones at frequencies lower than mine.

Beats me.

I have ATC SCM40 mains, 2 SVB3000s, along with an A308 MF amp, a good streamer, and a good DAC. I also have a very challenging room with no options to improve anything at this point, room-wise. I don't know if I've ever looked at my profile.

So I gather that for the most part, the lowest sounds aren't within the range of  instruments per se, and the clarity of these is room dependent.

Thanks for the links.

Gosta: I have a hell of a time determining where to set the sub volume. Which result reflects the recording's intent? How did they mean to balance the bass with the rest? And what sounds the best to me? you'd think I know that last one, but when it comes to bass... I wish I could discern all this better. Anyone else's experience deciding volume would be welcome.