Nuforce STA200

I am curious about the Nuforce STA200 amplifier  If anyone has experience with the amp it would be appreciated if you would share your listening impressions, both good and bad.  Some of the descriptions I have read classify it as a class AB amp and others a class D amp.  I am not technical savvy about these things, can a single amplifier be both? 
Thanks
George
jetter

Showing 33 responses by jetter

Thanks randy, I am hoping someone owns/has owned the little amp and could share their experience, but does not seem very popular.
Thanks jl35, that is good to know.  If you don't mind give your thoughts after break in is complete.
Thanks again jl35 and aberyclark for providing your listening experiences.  
mrdecibel, I purchased a STA200 about a month ago when Audio Advisor received them back in inventory again.  As was discussed previously, the amps high gain resulted in me only being able to turn up the volume on my tube preamp about 1/3 of usual.  At someone's recommendation, I purchased the Schitt Sys passive for less than $60 including shipping and put it between my pre out and amp, and that did the trick perfectly.  I have had only tube amps for a long time, but I am enjoying the STA200 quite a lot.  At $499 I am quite happy.

Hi donst100,

I was going to mention that my STA200 doesn't even get warm on my 89db, 6ohm speakers.  But just the same, I am a bit surprised it didn't play well with you Elacs. 

George

mrdecibel, what is the item that is on the stock STA200 power cord just below where the cord attaches to the amp?  I assume it doesn't impact ones choice of power cord? Thanks
Thanks mrdecibel, I have seen them often, but I never knew that they were all basically the same device inside the cover, performing the same function. Live and learn.
I guess adding to the above, and I have not looked into it at all, I get the impression that the STA200 is the only non class D amp they make?