New DACs High End Munich 2023

I am now searching for a new DAC to replace my Oppo UDP-205 and High End Munich 2023 was the event I was waiting for to hear about new announcements.

I know that Auralic and Total DAC have introduced new DACs and Primare has new modules. Anyone hear any other DACs being released in the next 2-3 months?

128x128milpai

Showing 5 responses by old_ears

yyzsantabarbara,  After listening thru the 3 FPGA "tunings" of late on my Pontus II, I agree...very nice to have a manufacture/distributer that offers free upgrades and tries to accommodate differing ears.  The FPGA programing can create quite different sounding output.  The I2s/HDMI connection to my OPPO 85 was a main reason for the purchase...very satisfied!

@acmaier3   The Pontus II is indeed an R2R DAC, but the ladder is controlled by an FPGA chip that has 3 different firmware editions available with different sound outputs.

@ acmier3,  I'm no engineer but here's the descriptive post from Alvin at Vinshine Audio:

https://www.vinshineaudio.com/so/adOWUmVqi?languageTag=en&cid=110512b0-13c8-4484-ab7f-8c1a5d515110

I have a photo of the FPGA chip in my DAC.  It is not programed as an analog filter but the master controller of the resistor ladder.  I know you are thinking of pure FPGA DACs like the Cord Electronic line...not the same architecture. 

The point of my posts here was to agree with @yyzsantabarbara saying FPGA DAC are the future.  Maybe I misunderstood his/her statement but I'd like to think more DAC manufactures will future proof their offerings by following Denifrips/Vinshine's policy of free upgrades and different "tunings" to choose from.  This is possible with pure FPGA DACs as well as FPGA "controlled" devices.