Gimbal vs unipivot tonearms

Curious as to the difference between these types of arms. In my experience, it seems as if unipivots are much more difficult to handle.

Is it like typical debates - depends on the actual product design/build or is one better sounding or less expensive or harder to set up....?
sokogear

Showing 12 responses by rodman99999

I've been using a Magnepan Unitrac I, since 1981.

A very low effective mass unipivot, that I've always used with fairly high-compliance carts.  (ie: two Denon 103d's, Dynavector 17D3, Soundsmith Aida)

It's my opinion: Physics would dictate, with a lower compliance cart, the stiffer suspension would tend to cause vibration migration, up the lightweight arm tube and resultant chatter in the unipivot.

The thought makes my teeth hurt.

Can't help but wonder, how many may have tried that and blamed the design?
@mijostyn-    I've never had a problem getting excellent Bass with my chosen carts.

Always have tried to match them correctly (compliance/effective mass, within reason), which, I realize, some think is bunk.

In my mind: a high compliance cart, in some of the newer, higher mass arms, would create other problems.    ie: exaggerated cone motion, when trying to ride record warp, possibly: early compliance collapse and excessive stylus wear?

Anyway: I've always been a Pipe Organ-phile, Bass lover and got acquainted with the sound of, "live", way before ever owning a system (Elementary School music classes, etc).      Well- there was the turntable and Elvis 45's, at around the age of 12, but...

Two of my all-time favorite vinyls are the Crystal Clear, Direct to Disc, of Virgil Fox (The Fox Touch, Vol I) and MFSL, Dark Side of the Moon.

Toccata and Fugue in D minor and the heartbeats (not to mention the rest of that disc), both are mesmerizing, when reproduced correctly.

Thanks for the suggestion, though!