Best sounding transistors

Many people talk of tube rolling and the sonic differences they impart.  Output transistor are not easily rollable since they are soldered in place, but I'm curious about the sonic signatures different transistors might have.  Who makes the "best" ones?  Which amplifiers use them and what is the native/optimal output impedance on these devices?  I know there is a lot more to an amplifier than just the output transistors, but I'm just curious about this one aspect.  I'm not an electrical engineer either, so please keep it simple.  What do the Pass amps use?
thegoldengoose

Showing 3 responses by dhl93449

auxinput

I would like to comment on your response above.

The offset in a power amp has nothing to do with whether it uses bipolar or MOSFET or any other transistors. It depends on circuit topography and how much DC feedback is used (or if servo amps are employed as in Parasound amps). If you are referring to Vbe matching, bipolars might be better than MOSFETs but that depends on the type and manufacturer.

While using a large number of output transistors reduces the load on each transistor, the downside is that a large number of transistors create a high capacitance load for the driver stages, slowing down the amplifier. This high capacitance reduces the slew rate and can create TIM distortion. In my amp designs, I prefer to use the smallest number of power transistors possible that will get the job done and not experience secondary breakdown under full output current or high bias conditions. This is particularly true for bipolar output stages and less to MOSFET output stages.