12AX7 tubes for Counterpoint NP400

I have a Counterpoint NP400 hybrid amp (200x2 into 8 ohms), which was recently given an "ultimate" ugrade by the amp's designer, Michael Elliot. I am kind of new to tubes, but am hoping to play around with some different tubes. Any suggestions for good (great) tubes to try out. Are there any concerns with various tubes I need to be aware of? Can I just drop them in, or do I need to rebias the amp? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
alruhl
I have 12ax7 in my phono stage.The sovtek Lps is a quiet tube but a little bright.I had them but bought Telefunkens which are even quieter and sound MUCH better.I bought 2 from Kevin Deal @ upscale audio.$35 each.No you only bias ouput tubes 6550,EL-34 etc.
contact Christian at Electron tube valve.He will be very helpfull.www.electrontube.com
My favourite affordable (relative term I know) 12AX7s are; Amperex, Telefunken and Mullard. Sure they cost more than a Sovtek, but in the context of the price of an amp the money is very well spent. In my system I find the Amperex is best, having warmth and the best dynamics. The Mullards are a little relaxed. The Telefunkens are often considered to be the best but the better dynamics of the Amperex wins out in my view. You do not need to worry about swapping one 12AX7 for another - issues of biasing only apply to power tubes.
The Sovtek 12AX7 is an okay sounding tube at best. If you are looking for good advice and very nice pricing, try Triode Electronics in Chicago. (773) 871-7459. Their hours are quirky, so keep trying. I have been buying vintage tubes from them for years.